At the very worst, drunk driving can be deadly. But if you manage to sneak your way out of an accident, you’ve still got the risks for getting busted — which can be extremely costly.
According to MSN Money, a DUI costs thousands — in court fees and fines, attorney costs and skyrocketing insurance premiums.
Our New York City drunk driving accident lawyers understand that the costs that are associated with a drunk driving conviction can vary from state to state, but they almost always run into the thousands of dollars. According to the latest numbers, the minimum cost of a first DUI conviction in the state of New York is $9,500.
Initial fees and fines:
When you’re arrested, you’ve got to dish out money for bail. You’re also going to want to get your car from the impound. And then when you finally head into court, you’re going to be hit with court fees and fines.
After you are arrested, you can enroll in the Drinking Driver Program (DDP) which will allow you to obtain a conditional license. This course is going to cost you, too!
Be ready to pay the $50 suspension termination fee and Driver Responsibility Assessment, if applicable. On a first-time conviction, you run the risk of losing your driver’s license for at least six months. And they don’t just hand it back to you when that time is up. When you want it back, you have to pay for it.
With a drunk driving conviction on your driving record, you’re going to pay a lot more for insurance coverage. According to recent studies, this charge is going to increase your rates by about 20 percent and this increase will last an average of 3 years. In many cases, rates nearly double.
Getting around is going to cost you if you don’t have a driver’s license. Consider all the money in cab fares and all the gas money contributions to friends and family members who chauffeur you around. It could also cost you your job. There are many fields and companies who will refuse to hire someone who has been busted of drunk driving. With no income, it’s going to be hard to keep up with these costs.
That’s why, before heading out to celebrate the Fourth, you should make sure you’ve got a designated driver if drinking is involved in your festivities. If you find yourself without a driver, remember that there are other safe ways to get home. You can call a taxi, a friend or a family member to come get you and take you to where you need to be. If that fails, consider jumping on public transportation. Whatever you do — don’t get behind the wheel because it cost you big bucks, even if you don’t get into an accident.
If you have been injured contact the Law Offices of Nicholas Rose, PLLC for a free consultation. Call 718-261-0546.
More Blog Entries:
Drunk Driving Car Accident in New York City Lands Officer Jail Time, New York Injury Lawyer Blog, June 15, 2012
Can You be Held Liable for Knowingly Letting Another Drive Drunk in New York?, New York Injury Lawyer Blog, May 17, 2012