A young New York driver is now facing charges of negligent vehicular homicide under the influence of alcohol after an accident that killed his passenger.
The accident happened at the Yellowstone Club resort. The young driver, 19-years-old from Bronxville, was taken into custody just before 12:00 a.m. by state troopers. The accident happened as the young driver attempted to make a left-hand turn onto Andesite Ridge Road, according to authorities. The driver reportedly told officers that his passenger “fell out” of the vehicle. Once officers arrived on scene, they said that the driver would not take a breath test, a sobriety test of a blood test. Officers noted that the young driver’s eyes were bloodshot and watery His clothes were also bloody from the accident.
Earlier this year, the young driver was convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in a separate incident. The young driver was able to post $50,000 in bail after sitting in jail for about 15 hours.
Our Queens car accident attorneys understand these are tragic cases. Often we think about such charges stemming from injury or death occurring to passengers in other vehicles. But just as often it’s a passenger in an at-fault driver’s vehicle — often a friend or family member — who is seriously injured or killed in such crashes. Consulting an experienced law firm should always be the first step in the process of recovery.
We understand the risks that teen drivers face on our roadways. As a matter of fact, car accidents are the leading cause of death for this young age group. They’re likely to speed, likely to drive while distracted and likely to drive under the influence of alcohol.
As the school year begins, teens will be hitting the streets in force — and thousands of new drivers ill be earning their license. We’re asking for parents’ help. Sit down and talk with your young driver about the risks and the consequences they’re likely to face on our streets. Talk with them about the importance of safe driving habits! Your talk could mean the difference between life and death for these young ones. Parents are more influential than you might think. They’re actually the most influential individuals in the life of a teenage driver.
Before a teenager can get an unrestricted driver’s license they’ve got to complete the requirements of a provisional permit. During this time they’re required to drive only with a licensed passenger in the front seat who is at least 21-years-old. They’re also required to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving. Fifteen of these hours are to be completed at night. If they’re under the age of 17, they’re required to complete a driver’s education class or enroll in a pre-licensing safe driving course before you can take the road test. A driver’s education certificate will exempt you from the state’s 50-hour requirement rule.
While the state may determine when your teen is legally allowed to drive, you ultimately have the final call. Every teen is unique. Not all teens are ready to drive when they turn 16-years-old. Consider whether or not your teen is ready to handle the responsibilities of driving. Make sure you enact driving rules within your own household to help to ensure your teen’s safety behind the wheel.
If you have been injured in an accident, contact the Law Offices of Nicholas Rose, PLLC for a free and confidential consultation. Call 1-877-313-7673 today.
More Blog Entries:
Teen Car Accidents a Primary Summer Threat in New York, New York Injury Lawyer Blog, June 12, 2012